A real holiday

This week I have taken annual leave, but I always find it hard to relax when I stay at home.  There’s jobs in garden,  a never ending list of chores indoors, tasks that nag at me even when I try to ignore them and read a book, watch a film or just sit in the garden. 

I need a change of scenery to enjoy a real holiday, rather than just day trips away.  So we booked two nights away in a hotel in West Sussex.  A nice short trip, a couple of hours away instead of our usual long trip through France.  I really enjoy a two night stay, as it gives you time to unwind on the first night, then the next day, you can to go back to your room after breakfast to potter around before going out to dinner on the second night.  A one night trip just seems to be over so fast; just as you start to relax it’s time to pack up and go home again.

sunny garden with metal tables painted white.   flower beds in the middle, trees at the back with wooden pergola centre back.
The Millstream Hotel garden

We stayed at the Millstream Hotel in Bosham, near to Chichester,  a very relaxing hotel set in a beautiful and fascinating garden.  The gardener pointed out the artworks to us which are part of the landscape, waiting to be discovered rather than overpowering everything else in the garden.

Outside of the hotel and grounds, it’s a short walk to the harbour, and to a number of footpaths leading out of the village and along the coast.  We spent our two days exploring on foot, visiting local shops and the Anchor Bleu pub on the waterfront.

gravel path running down to water, fence on left side and hedge on right side.  Sun on water and green of foliage on bank and low tide mark on far side of water
A short walk to the harbour

Two days and while I probably walked quite a few miles, I never travelled more than half a mile away from the hotel.  I relaxed completely into the rhythm of this laid-back friendly village and leaving felt quite a wrench, but I have plenty of annual leave and it’s only a short drive away so we will be back soon.

The Millstream, Bosham

The Anchor Bleu, Bosham

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started